Review: Sweet Child O’Mine in Tampa

 

Sweet Child

Earlier this month, I had my final postpartum visit. After six weeks of care both preceding and following the birth of Moulay, it was time to bid farewell. Even though prenatal care, birthing assistance, and postnatal care are services we paid for, I felt largely indebted to the staff of Sweet Child O’Mine. They supported our family through a delicate and beautiful time in our lives. They made us feel safe in their care and I felt like I owed them something. I thought of baking something or sending them flowers but settled on a thank you card and a picture of the new life they helped to deliver. My midwife reminded me that Moulay delivered himself but her team helped cultivate a safe landing place for him and me to emerge.

Birthing Suite

Birthing Suite

From my first visit at 34 weeks pregnant, I walked through the deep purple doors of a homelike abode. Diffused scents of lavender filled the air and complemented the floral décor. Each room was impeccably neat, tidy, and pleasing to the eyes. The birthing center felt as relaxed as a neighbor’s home but as professional as a doctor’s office. The lending library offered a thorough selection of books, cd’s and dvd’s for both experienced and novice mothers alike.  The two birthing suites were as cozy as a bed and breakfast with all medical tools thoughtfully removed out of view. The bathrooms are filled with all necessary amenities for personal hygiene and remain spotlessly clean without feeling uncomfortably sterile. The birthing tubs are sanitized after each use with birthing balls on hand for use.

Lending Library

Lending Library

The childbirth preparation classes were conveniently scheduled on both weekends and evenings, giving families great flexibility to ensure attendance. On a weekend class I attended, I was the only mother of color in attendance. But at an evening class, I found myself pleasantly surprised by the number of Black and Latina mothers who attended with their husbands, boyfriends, mothers and friends. I was encouraged to know that such great care was available to so many women.

Waiting Lobby

Waiting Lobby

Sweet Child O’Mine also succeeds at selecting personable staff who care about mothers, their births, and their babies. I was informed of care decisions and given room to ponder, accept, and decline at will. Everyone from the receptionist to the midwives were warm and friendly, while proficient in each of their duties. Though I assumed that they would forget my birth amongst the others, each staff member recalled my unique birth story and took joy in watching our son grow and develop in subsequent postpartum visits. Their inquiries regarding my wellbeing were heartfelt and sincere. I felt nurtured by their firm hugs and encouraging words.

Birthing Team

Birthing Team

While I will miss my visits to the birthing center, I assured them that I hope not to return too soon. They were excellent caretakers and I would love to give birth again in their care…a few years from now, in sha’ Allah (God willing).

Leave a Reply

