Easy as 1-2-3 Ketchup

100_7029

My daughter believes I can fix just about anything and being the problem-solver I am, I hate to disappoint.  So, when she wouldn’t touch my garlic roasted potatoes because they lacked ketchup, I knew I had my next assignment.  She recently discovered this condiment and can’t seem to get enough of it.  If I don’t keep an eye on her, I find her dipping her fork in ketchup just to lick it off.  To address our dilemma, I donned my Super-Mom cape apron and whipped up this ketchup sauce, which we all now prefer over the store-bought version.    It’s not as thick as the packed variety, so I doubt you can make a neat smiley face on your lentil burger. But it’s easy, wholesome, and tasty and that should tip the scale a bit, right?

Ingredients

1 tbsp. honey or agave

2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar

3 tbsp. tomato paste

Pinch sea salt (optional)

Pinch of dried rosemary (optional)

Pinch of ground cloves (optional)

Pinch of dried thyme (optional)

Directions

  1. Stir honey/agave into vinegar to dissolve.
  2. Stir tomato paste into the above.
  3. Season to taste.  Enjoy and dip responsibly!

100_7021

Leave a Reply

