Hola, Granola

It’s been years since I made granola.  I started when I was a sophomore in college.  I remember the disasters of over-cooked (i.e. burnt) granola and repeatedly making the mistake of baking raisins in the granola batch, but somehow, it was a hit!  My family loved my granola, and my brother would request it in the care packages we would send to him in West Africa.  Maybe I got too busy or too comfy buying granola in bulk from our local food co-op.  However, now that I find myself in Oman, with excessively over-packaged everything and one lonely organic store that sells overpriced, bulk items in Muscat, it was time to stop buying imported cereals and reconnect to my DIY roots.

This recipe is way better than I remember my granola ever tasting!  I’ve been making weekly batches and enjoying it every morning with unsweetened, vanilla soymilk and dried dates, after having my Green Goodness smoothie.  It makes feeding myself, in between feeding Lil’ Z, much easier.

Ingredients

3 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup sesame seeds

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 cup coconut shreds

1/2 cup almonds

1 cup wheat germ

1/2 tbsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla powder

pinch sea salt

1/3 cup vegetable oil (canola oil works well)

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup orange juice

Directions

1. Combine dry ingredients in large bowl

2. Combine wet ingredients

3. Add the wet ingredients to dry ingredients and coat thoroughly

4. Bake at 300 F (150 C) for about 45 minutes, turning the granola every 15 minutes or so.

5. Enjoy the aroma of fresh-baked granola while it lingers in your home.  Don’t forget to eat your granola too!  😉

5 thoughts on “Hola, Granola

  1. Sounds yummy! I’ve also gotten too comfy buying granola from Trader Joe’s. I think I’ll give this one a try! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. hmmm…trader joe’s! they do have very yummy and reasonably priced granola but i think making your own should still be cheaper (and much more fun!).

  3. Pingback: RaggaVegan Basics: Red Lentil Stew « Raggamuslims’ Weblog

  4. Pingback: Planning a Plant-Based Ramadan | Raggamuslims

Leave a Reply

