Kokkinos

Kokkinos is a cute little eatery in Dely Brahim.  Despite the location’s excellent bus accessibility, it is not a very promising choice for the vegans.  Vegetarians can have a cheesy good time there but I only found one suitable vegan dish and it’s actually just a starting salad. 

Despite this singular salad which they call a “Mexican Salad” (what’s so Mexican about a cabbage salad with like three red kidney beans, raisins, corn, olives, and a vinaigrette?), I keep going back for more.  Why?  I don’t know!  There’s something magnetically attractive about the ambiance.  They even state in their menu that you’ll keep coming back for more!  Maybe they’re slipping something in my salad?  The service is not even that good, but their presentation is impressive. 

On one of my Kokkinos visits, they tried to make me a vegan meal.  I didn’t take a picture but it was an exquisitely beautiful plate filled with side orders.  Two mounds of saffron-colored rice, a few stacks of steamed carrots, zucchini, and turnips, a tied bundle of green string beans, and a side of French fries.  In true French style, the portions were little but boy did it look pretty!  I haven’t been there lately, since my teaching assignment in that neighborhood ended.  And, besides, this little one in my oven needs more than an over-sensationalized salad for lunch.  Urbndervish joined me once to taste their fresh, fruit smoothies which were really good but not cheap. 

All in all, it’s a cute place to eat, if you’re not too hungry.  😉

One thought on “Kokkinos

Leave a Reply

