Cashew Hemp Milk

One thing I discovered by working at the health food store was how good raw cashews are. We blend them into some of our drinks and smoothies. So, when I thought of what to take to a new and strange land that may not have any soy milk, I knew I had to pack some raw organic cashews. I took five pounds to be exact…and five pounds of raw organic pumpkin seeds…and five pounds of raw organic hemp seeds. Crazy, I know! I kept telling myself “You don’t need much clothes. Give clothes away and leave some behind. Those fifteen pounds of joy essentially filled one of my free checkon bags. I brought along a few other goodies like bee pollen, nutritional yeast, kelp, echinacea, goldenseal, essential oils, shea butter, etc. It’s hard to know what would be of most benefit to you for an entire year and what may be hardest to find in your new home abroad. So far, we’re very pleased with what I brought. Interestingly enough, we discovered that we have a few herbal stores here in Algiers that sell essential oils, herbal teas and homeopathic remedies. We also heard that there’s a renowned herbalist in the capital’s center.  
 
 
Ingredients (for 2 servings)
½ cup of raw, organic cashews
 
 6 tbsp. of raw, organic hemp seeds

2 tsp. of honey

 cups of water (any temperature that you choose)

 
1 pinch of sea salt

As for the hemp seeds, they are naturally rich in protein and omega fatty acids. They boost the nutritional value of cashew milk tremendously and taste really good. With such a tasty and hearty non-dairy milk alternative, who needs soy milk?

Directions

 

1.  Put all of the above in a blender
 
 2.  Blend until your heart’s content

3.  Enjoy! No need to strain the milk or presoak the cashews

I haven’t tried this yet, but I’m sure this would taste amazing with cinnamon and nutmeg or cocoa powder or carob powder. I’ve added 2 tbsp. of bee pollen to this milk also and it still tastes good.
 
Leave a Reply

