Raw Kale Salad

038

Kale and I have a history.  When I first realized that I wasn’t eating enough vegetables in the spring of my vegetarian life, I discovered kale.  I heard that it was good for you and I found it to be cheap enough to buy at the food co-op but I had no idea how to cook kale, so I just ate it raw.  I rinsed it and ate it and it didn’t taste good but I kept eating it because I knew it was good for me.  I knew that overcooking vegetables stripped them of their nutrients, so it made sense to suffer through chewing the kale raw- unseasoned and uncooked.

At some point, I was introduced to steamed kale and that rocked my world.  Light steaming with onions, olive oil, garlic, and some Bragg’s Amino Acids was my new found favorite.  However, the raw vegan dogma visits me from time to time.  Cooking is bad.  Cooking depletes nutrients and enzymes.  Eat living foods to live. So, urbndervish and I have been doing some research on raw veganism and the apparent results are impressive.  Those who are doing raw veganism properly can be fit, muscular, and highly energetic.  Some report needing only a few hours of sleep at night, rarely getting sick, recovering very quickly after birthing with no pouch (yes ladies, no kangaroo pouch at only a few days post-birth), look way younger than their age and have an overall sense of well-being and vitality.  These findings make a very attractive argument for going raw.

So far, it seems that having access to abundant fresh produce, nuts, and seeds, as well as having expensive appliances are important to prepare a palatable raw vegan menu.  It also seems like raw vegans need to eat frequently throughout the day which dissuades me.  In the meantime, I’m finding the easiest way to incorporate raw foods into our diet is by salads and smoothies.  I usually make spinach salads but when the spinach ran out, I tried kale.

This raw kale salad is like a homecoming for me.  I’m eating raw kale again but it tastes way better than I remember it tasting some 7 or 8 years ago.  Enjoy!

Raw Kale Salad

Rinsed, chopped kale

Vinaigrette- I used a homemade salad dressing, substituting the apple cider vinegar with half lemon juice and half water.  I added about 1 tbsp. of freshly shredded ginger too.  Some vegans don’t eat honey, so substitute with another sweetener as you see fit.

Raw almonds

Raisins

Directions

1.  Add ingredients together in a large bowl.  Cover and shake to make sure the kale is coated with your dressing

2.  Cover and let sit for at least 2 hours

3.  Chomp away!  After marinating, the texture is not as course as fresh kale but it’s not as soft as steamed kale either.  If the salad is “too raw” for you, steam it lightly but beware the wrath of the raw vegans.  (joking)  😉

One thought on “Raw Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

