The Moon and I

Lately I’ve been praying my morning prayers on the roof of our building.  I think out of all the tenants in our building, we use the roof most frequently- to dry clothes, to gaze at stars, to take pictures, and the like.  But then, I started to go to the roof  to enjoy the coolness of the morning and to soak up its serenity.  Because people’s lives revolve around worship so naturally here, just about everyone is doing the same thing at that time- praying, worshipping, reflecting, etc.  All you can hear are the birds chirping and the murmurs of the activities in the masaajid (mosques).  But as the morning gets closer to sunrise, the scent of the air changes and you start to hear an occasional car or motorcycle on the road and the construction workers starting their work.  You can also smell the brick ovens being heated to bake a type of bread called haif.  This bread is commonly eaten for breakfast here.  I’ll tell you more about the bread once I have a picture of it, insha’Allah (God-Willing).  100_1307

Today, as I was laying my prayer mat on the ground, I felt a light shining on me and thought “Who left the light on up here?”.  (Note:  There are lights on the roof.)  I look up to notice that the light shining in my face is nothing other than the full moon (al-badr). 

100_1398

Subhan’Allah (Glory to be God), it felt like a spotlight shining on none other than myself.  This reminded me of the few times that I was awakened in the night, as an adolescent, because I could feel the full moon shining on my face .  At those times, I felt very close to the Creator and grateful that The Light (An-Nur) was shining on me.  The same feeling I had on those nights I felt today. I didn’t do anything to receive this light but it was shining on me as a child, and it is shining on me today.  But now, I’m awake.  Alhamdulillah (Praise be to God).

4 thoughts on “The Moon and I

  1. Hey there. Enjoyed this post. I’ve become increasingly spiritually aware lately (to the point of regularly attending church here in Philadelphia, where I live now). Would be interested in learning more about the relationship between your spirituality and your faith. Feel free to email if ever you like and take care!

  2. Assalaamu’alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu sister

    Jazakillahu khayran for sharing your experiences. I bumped into your blog through your post on Sibawaih, which interestingly was the same institute which I studied at when I was in Sana’a. (I saved the the two pics there, hope that’s okay with you).

    And then I read you were in Hadramawt.. It’s a small world as I think I have figured out who you are. I believe you recently shared some insightful words about visiting Tarim on the Seek Sacred Knowledge forum.

    It’s nice to know that you’re well. May Allah bless you and your family, ameen. Please remember me and my loved ones in your prayers 🙂

  3. wa alaykum as salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu,

    so, you found me? 😉 masha’Allah ‘alayki.

    thank you for all of the advice you offered through the forum and via email correspondence- it has been very beneficial.

    please remember us in your duas too!

    jazaakum Allahu khayran!

Leave a Reply

