Belated Eid Mubarak!

Eid here, for us, has been pretty quiet and relaxing.  Our lofty travel ideas did not come to fruition for the obvious reason that in a land full of Muslims, everyone is spending the holiday with …their family!  So, urbndervish and I spent Eid with each other; our family of two.  We caught up on some rest, enjoyed my favorite fruit dessert almost every morning for breakfast, and studied Arabic everyday.  We did visit a few friends but only briefly.  One of our Malay neighbors had us over for rice squares and spicy chilly peanut sauce, which was delish!  So, to the beautiful people we’ve spend Eid with in the past:  we really missed you this year!  Thanks for sharing those special days with us!

As far as gifts, here’s a picture of the early Eid gifts I made for my nieces and nephew.  They arrived to the U.S. just days before their return to West Africa with my brother.

And what do you do when you don't know where to find cotton stuffing or how to ask for it in Arabic?...

And what do you do when you don't know where to buy cotton stuffing in Yemen or how to ask for it in Arabic???

Get Creative!

Get Creative!

Here’s a link to an article written by a dear sister about how Eid is celebrated throughout the African diaspora.  Click here.

What we noticed about Eid in Yemen is that most stores are closed for the entire three-day celebration.  The ladies have their hands decorated with henna designs and little girls are wearing poofy dresses.  After Eid, the city is alive and vibrant in the mornings again and people are eating around the clock. 

During Eid, Yemenis will offer their guests a tasty assortment of pistachios, almonds, raisins, chocolates, cookies, etc.  (I should’ve taken a picture for the blog but I can’t even begin to explain that in Arabic yet!)  When I visited a few households for Eid, they kept saying “Kulee, Kulee”, which means “Eat!  Eat!”.  They want to know that you leave their house satiated in the least, stuffed at best.  So, that was our first Eid in Yemen.  Not too eventful but enjoyable, nonetheless.

4 thoughts on “Belated Eid Mubarak!

  1. Salam alaykum,

    First of all, belated Happy Eid 🙂

    Great to hear your news… I’m glad you enjoyed a quite eid over there… I didnt even get to celebrate eid! I had to work on unexpected last minute abstract for all 3 days of eid, I could only attend the prayer on the first day and then I had to go back to work!
    Since this is not my first eid here, I’ve done this before… but this year, I was hoping to get some time off. So, when I found out about this last minute work, I wasnt happy about it at all… 😉
    But, alhamdolilah I got to meet everybody again on Sat at the masjid for eid dinner, which wasnt too bad I guess.

    So, now you’ve experienced an other thing in Yemen! Your description of eid just reminded me of eid in my family… my father thinks that eid is just time to stay at home and sleep! So, every eid we have to ask him a 100 time to take us anywhere!! So, probably eid here in the states is not much more boaring than eid with my family 😉

    I hope you now enjoy an other episode of your adventure; life in Yemen during non-Ramadan days 🙂
    take good care
    fe aman Allah
    maha

  2. Asalaamuailikum wa rahmatullahL
    Belated Eid Kareem to you both. I really enjoyed reading about Eid there and Ramadan…I remember my first Ramadan ever was in turkey and you feel the whole atmosphere change Alhummdullilah! We definitely miss you over here but inshAllah study hard and take care of one another while Allah (swt) is taking care of you…May Allah (swt) bless you both and reward you in this journey…Ma’salaama Allah Hafiz.
    moni

  3. wa alaykum as salaam wa rahmatullah and belated eid mubarak to you both!

    thanks for the dua’s. may Allah bless you both generously- ameen!

  4. Pingback: Our American Eid | Raggamuslims

Leave a Reply

